Karnataka makes RTPCR compulsory for people from Kerala

RTPCR - Kerala9.com

Mangalore: Karnataka has made RTPCR negative test results mandatory for those arriving from Kerala. Following the detection of Delta Plus in Kerala, a new variant of the Covid-19 virus, Karnataka has again made negative test results mandatory. With this, strict monitoring was carried out in the border areas of the districts including Dakshina Kannada, which shares a border with Kerala. Those who fail the negative test will be sent back.

The Deputy Commissioner (DC) K V Rajendra informed that RT-PCR negative result is mandatory for all those entering Karnataka through various borders of Dakshina Kannada district. The Deputy Commissioner said that steps have been taken to check all vehicles entering the district through various border roads as per the order of the state government.

The DC said there will be 24-hour inspections to prevent people from making unnecessary trips.

It has also asked for the setting up of checkpoints in the Gram Panchayats in the border areas of the district. All hospitals have been directed to make RT-PCR mandatory for patients coming from Kerala and those accompanying them. Covid checkpoints were also opened at the borders.

Border surveillance has also been strengthened to prevent the possibility of a third wave and reduce the number of cases. The deputy commissioner told that it was a challenge to check those coming by train.