HomeArts & CultureNavarathri celebrated across the country

Navarathri celebrated across the country

Navaratri means ‘nine nights’ meaning Sanskrit. This festival, which lasts nine nights and ten days, is worshiping nine forms of power. During the first three days of Navratri, Devi is worshiped as Parvati, the next three days Lakshmi, and the last three days, Saraswathi Pooja. There are only five nights, but only three are celebrated now. There will be a pooja for the Navaratri

People attach great significance to each day of the Navarathri and worship the Goddess in these forms with Kanya puja, special naivedyam (offering) and alankarams (decorations) at home. Women gather in huge numbers to recite Devi Mahatmyam and sing classical numbers in ragas dedicated for each of these days.

While the celebrations are already on in full swing, with a couple of days already behind us, we give you a lowdown on how these special pujas are performed and which flowers, naivedyam and ragas are significant during Navarathri. Meanwhile, the violence in the name of Sabarimala is continuing, the devotee observing Pooja in Kerala.

- Advertisment -

Must Read


The tractor overturned in the pit, 11 people were killed and...

Lucknow: At least 11 people were killed when a tractor overturned in Uttar Pradesh. Several people were injured. The incident took place at a...
Kochi Metro

Kochi Metro train till 10 pm

niranjana anoop childhood photos and new 007

Niranjana Anoop