Southwest monsoon in Kerala; Yellow alert in eight districts

190627847 4009448302482520 4132633978634961974 n

Thiruvananthapuram: The Central Meteorological Department has said that the southwest monsoon has arrived in Kerala. Yellow alerts have been issued in eight districts since then. The yellow alert was issued in Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kozhikode, Kannur, and Kasaragod districts. Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Idukki, Thrissur, Malappuram, Kozhikode, and Wayanad districts will also have a yellow alert tomorrow.

Minicoy, Agatti, Thiruvananthapuram, Punalur, Kollam, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Kochi, Thrissur, Kozhikode, Thalassery, Kannur, Kasaragod, and Mangalore received 14 mm of rainfall for at least two consecutive days. Fishermen have been warned to be cautious as strong winds are expected in the Arabian Sea.