Attempt to assault Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker; Eight MPs were suspended

Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker attack -

New Delhi: MPs have been suspended for protesting during the vote on controversial farm bills and attempting to assault the Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker. Derrick O’Brien, Sanjay Singh, Rajiv Satav, KK Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nasir Hussain, and Elamaram Kareem have been suspended for a week.

Dramatic scenes unfolded while the Farm Bills were being debated in the Rajya Sabha. Members of the Opposition stormed the Rajya Sabha Deputy Speaker’s Dias. The protest was led by Trinamool Congress member Derrick O’Brien. Derrick O’Brien smashed Vice President Mike and tore up the papers. Other members of the opposition chanted slogans in protest.