Amrita Film Awards 2012 Announced


Amrita Film Awards 2012 Announced: ‘’Salt N’Pepper’’ and ‘’Chappa Kurisu’’ Bag Best Film Award; Mohan Lal and Jayaprada win Best Actor Awards; Lifetime Achievement for P.Jayachandran; Awards for ONV,Prabhu Deva, Dileep, Prithviraj, Jayaram, Kavya, Thilakan, Karthik, Renjith

The trendsetting films that created a new wave in Malayalam filmdom in 2011 have swept the  Amrita Film Awards  2012. These films include  ‘’Traffic’’, ‘’Salt N’Pepper’’ ,‘’Chappa Kurisu’’ and ‘’Beautiful’’.

Mohan Lal  and Jayaprada win the Best Actor Award (Male and Female) for ‘’Pranayam’’, while ONV Kurup gets the Best Lyricist Award for the same film. The Best Director Award is bagged by Renjith for ‘’Indian Rupee’’ .

‘’Salt N’Pepper’’  and ‘’Chappa Kurisu’’ share the honours for the Best Film Award.

The Amrita Film Awards 2012 will be presented on Saturday May 5, 2012  at Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium,Trivandrum in a glittering entertaining ceremony .

The highlight of the Amrita Film Awards is the bestowing of  Lifetime Achievement Award on veteran playback maestro, P.Jayachandran  . Other veterans who are being honoured with Most Versatile Actor in Character Roles are Thilakan for ‘’Indian Rupee’’ and Sarada for ‘’Nayika’’. Noted choreographer,director,actor, Prabhu Deva receives the award for Versatile Personality(Tamil).

Dileep  gets the Popular Actor Award (Male) and Kavya Madhavan receives the award in Female category. Prithiviraj  bags the Yuva Keerthi Puraskara Award  .

In the music category, many names vie with each other –Karthik  receives the Versatile Singer Award ; Unni  Menon gets the Best Singer Award(Male) for ‘’Beautiful’’ and  Manjari  gets the Award for the Best Singer(Female) for ‘’Urumi’’;  with Biji Bal scoring the Best Music Director Award for ‘’Salt N’Pepper’’ .

The honours for Best Supporting Actor are shared by Biju Menon and Manoj K.Jayan for ‘’Seniors’’ while the female category award is taken by Lena for ‘’Traffic’’.  The Family Hero of the Year Award goes to Jayaram. The film ‘’Beautiful’’ brings to Jayasurya the Entertainer of the Year Award.  Vijayaraghavan wins the Best Villian Award for ‘’Venisile Vyapari’’

A new category called Innovative Producer of the Year goes to ‘’Urumi’’ Producers team led by Santhosh Sivan. Likewise, the New Face of the Year Award goes to Unni Mukundan (Male) and Karthika(Female). The Best Youthful Pair Award is bagged by Mythili and Asif Ali for ‘’Salt N’Pepper’’, and the Best On-screen Pair Award by Shwetha Menon and Lal for ’’Salt N’Pepper’’ . Master Sidharth will receive the Award for Best Child Artiste in ‘’Orma Mathram’’

The star-studded Nite will also honour  excellence in various technical categories: ‘’Salt N’Pepper’’ fetches awards for Aashiq Abu, Sadanandan Rangorath& Debobroto Mandal ;  ‘’Chappa Kurisu’’ wins awards for Sameer Tahir, Listin Stephen, Joemon John ;  ‘’Traffic’’ bestows awards for Rajesh Pillai,  Sanjay&Bobby ;  and ‘’Beautiful’’ gets awards for Anoop Menon, Mahesh Narayanan and  V.K.Prakash

A distinguished galaxy of eminent persons along with an  audience of nearly  25,000 is expected to witness the Amrita Film Awards on  5th evening at Trivandrum .



Amrita TV



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.