Wednesday 16 Jan, 2019

Second phase of polling began in Gujarat

Author :          

Ahmedabad: Voting begins for second phase of Gujarat Assembly polls. Voting is underway in 93 constituencies in central and northern Gujarat. In the second phase, 851 candidates are contesting. With this, voting for the 182-member assembly will be completed. Counting of votes will take place on December 18.

The BJP and the Congress are fighting against each other. Madhya Pradesh, which includes Ahmedabad and Vadodara, is the BJP's stronghold. In North Gujarat the Congress is leading. Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel (Mehsana), Dalit leader Jignesh Mewani (Vadgaon) and OBC leader Alpesh Thakur (Radhanpur) are among those seeking demobilisation today.

Exit poll results will be released later this afternoon

Topics : |
comments powered by Disqus


Recent Posts